From Russia with love

Summer means travel, and this year I will be in Russia until Fri 31 July. I packed my IC-7100 in the suitcase and I hope today I will be able to find a pole for a temporary wire antenna on 10-15-20 metres (I’ll leave 40 and 80 for another day) to operate either from a fixed base or portable. All going well I should be able to operate as RA/M0ZZM and somehow advertise my presence on a DX cluster.

One thing I’d like to do is experiment with direct D-STAR contact in HF, this will have to be on 10 metres (I was thinking of the 29.4 MHz region) as it is the only band allowing the 6 KHz bandwidth required to operate. So if you are also looking forward to test D-STAR under propagation conditions, my QTH locator will be around KO82, which is approximately 400 Km south of Moscow or about 2000 Km distance from central and southern Europe.

If you wish to schedule a QSO, please add a comment to this post.

Leave a Reply

